skin disaster updates + coming up next…

  
Main update: skin is improving and nearly “normal.” Touch wood (or soft fluffy bunny). How and why are mysterious as the exact mechanism is unknown and has not been tracked systematically, due to my having other things to do (work, life) which are incompatible with obsessively attending to skin-condition. My doctor suspects the following:

  1. Paying less attention to skin and more attention to other things has probably been a positive contributing factor.
  2. Skin improvement has meant that (1) above was possible in the first place, because my skin didn’t hurt so I could ignore it. Skin not hurting, skin slowly healing, triggered a neat nice virtuous circle.
  3. My skin may have simply taken a regular renewal time to heal: that is, two months after the multiple initial dramas at the beginning of March.
  4. Work stress, anxiety, and overwork have been a negative contributing factor. They would have put my whole system in a weakened state, including increased sensitivity, proneness to over-reaction, and lower defenses. I’ve been more physically ill this year than previously, and less mentally well. 
  5. A positive that may have helped in the last two weeks: it’s a calmer time of year, work-wise, and I talked to work-people who were supportive in various ways, including reducing my work-load. Moral of the story: talk to people, openly and honestly, including your boss. If you’re valuable you will be valued. If you’re anxious and/or depressed, you may have no idea as to whether or not you and your work are valued and valuable, and you may have no way of telling precisely because your judgement is off. This may of course be a high-risk gamble if you are in fact neither valuable nor valued; so talk to trustworthy peer-colleagues first. (If you have none, then it’s probably a sign you should change job; been there, done that…)

Current stuff used:

  • Meadowfoam seed oil as makeup remover; warm water & a fresh cleansing pad flannel thing every time
  • La Roche-Posay Lipikar cream cleanser; ditto
  • Garden of Wisdom anti-puffery eye serum (hyaluronic acid, caffeine, matrixyl 3000)
  • Garden of Wisdom green tea hydragel serum (= Wise/Poor Man’s Replenix no. 1)
  • La Roche-Posay Cicaplast balm
  • DIY shea butter + olive oil + beeswax lipbalm
  • Derma E Face SPF 30 (16% ZnO, also green tea, vitamin C (SAP), no silicones; = Wise/Poor Man’s Replenix no. 2)
  • Badger unscented SPF 35 stick (22.5% ZnO)

Next up: 

  • review of Derma E Face SPF 30: I’ll expand the quick notes on my notepad at the  “morosophical beautification” page
  • review of that Garden of Wisdom eye stuff, and a couple of comparisons
  • review of the Badger sunstick, comparisons (Babo Botanical, Elemental Herbs, BurnOut)
  • I’ll keep my eyes open for any new sunscreen that looks Ginger-compatible, and anything else useful and, again, usable on yours truly.

  

6 comments

  1. Jude

    Hello!
    Love your blog. I’m in Canada, and absolutely cannot find a way to acquire vanicream 50.. Can you please tell me where you get yours from?? Thanks SO much!

  2. Jude

    Thanks so very much! I will be checking these out right now and ordering as soon as I find something. Thanks for creating such an amazing resources!

    • Jude

      Just a follow up to say thanks again, I found it a coolibar for about 20.00 less than Amazon.ca was charging, so was able to cancel my amazon order:) excellent! One last quick question, are you able to find the derma e spf 30 here in Canada? If not, can I trouble you for a good place to order that one from?

      • gingerama

        You’re welcome!

        On Derma E sunscreen:

        1. here in Vancouver, I’ve seen it in Whole Foods just in the last couple of weeks or so, at the Cambie St. branch (just north-west of Cambie@Broadway intersection and the Broadway-City Hall Canada Line stop). But: it was in the mid-$20 range (I forget, something around 23 to 25). They had both the Body and Face SPF 30s, same price for either. And they have testers, which is the important useful news🙂

        2. at well.ca with free shipping but $29.

        3. online from US sites, will take a little longer to arrive and some shipping charges but way less total price. Iherb.com and luckyvitamin.com stock both the Face and Body, $15.80 or so each (often less if buying more).

        I bought the Body regularly from both of them in the past, and now the Face too. I pick either one depending on who’s got a better deal at the time I’m shopping; I’ll also Google first in case anyone else dependable (vitacost is another, for example, or sometimes amazon) is offering a better deal.

        When shopping with them, I’ll usually buy several bottles at once, at least 4 months’ supply and ideally more like 6; each bottle works out cheaper, the postage is cheaper (and means the total cost per bottle–price+shipping–is lower), less packaging, and less carbon footprint compared to several separate orders.

        Even buying just one bottle, or one of each, is still around half the price of buying from many Canadian places (well.ca is a particularly bad offender here, it’s heinous if they’re even more expensive than Whole Foods!). But for testing before buying and maybe buying just a first single one, I’d go to Whole Foods.

        4. If in Vancouver, another place that might have it is Finlandia pharmacy on Broadway. But I’ve not been there in a while; I’m guessing here, because they carry most-to-all of the Derma E stuff.

        While I’ve seen Derma E in lots of places here, these places don’t necessarily have all products and the sunscreen is one of the less likely ones to find (ex. my local Save-On-Foods).

        So I’d recommend using the handy tool at the Derma E site then contacting shops directly, perhaps by telephoning them:
        http://dermae.com/locations.html

Care to reply?

