permitted cosmetic ingredients

This is in response to a question on MUA’s Green board: MUA seems to be glitchy right now, which translates as not playing along nicely with some combination of Mac, Firefox, and copy-pasted URLs.

thebeesknees asked the following sensible question:

Good morning! I’m curious about what cosmetic ingredients are legal in the US and what is banned in the EU. Also, do we have really lax regulations compared to other countries? (hoping to read more on this, querying the hive for info or links!) thanks!

duchessofgrapes

Immediately I think of hydroquinone. We definitely have lax regs IMO, but more than Asia.

gingerrama

links inside re. permitted cosmetic ingredients in the EU & USA aaah can’t add links???
I’ll PM you: see if you can copy-paste them and post them up here. PM coming up.
This is weird: I’ve always been able to post up links!!! And these are to government bodies, ffs!!!

Question of the US being “lax” or not–YMMV, and may depend on what you’re looking at and why. Legislation is slow, often hampered by vested interests. But the same is true in the EU, and indeed (smaller) Australia, Canada, Japan, etc.

I’m a European, living in Canada, have also lived in the US and assorted bits of Europe. To be honest, in the last 20+ years; in all the places I’ve lived; and following the local, national, and international press, plus propaganda from various sides (and actual scientific research) … from all that, I’ve seen plenty complaining *everywhere* about laxness, tightness, slowness, haste, old-fashionedness, over-eagerness to let in newfangled developments, and all possible combinations and permutations and contraries and incompatibilities and changes of mind along the way …

OK, something messed up with MUA today–can’t PM either, MUA crashing on me. Anyone else?

Aaaaargh indeed.

Anyway, here’s what I wanted to post, i.e. not just rumour or hearsay or second-hand fearmongering, but actual information from the official governmental horses’ mouths. Knowing how such discussions on the Green Board have a bit of a habit of going off into EWG territory, plus reference to “articles” variously seen online, read, and believed because they’re “published.” If you’re lucky, actual references; if not, vague recollections of having seen something somewhere. I’ve done that myself, usually thorugh a combination of being in a hurry and genuinely not remembering where I read something; nor when, why, how I happened upon said item so I’d have no idea how to retrace my steps and find the thing again. Though I do try to bookmark everything that seems vaguely interesting, for whatever vague reason; or no reason at all, or a haphazard “might come in useful some day” or “I’m sure someone somewhere once asked about this, maybe one day I’ll remember who, what, where, when.” I guess plenty of other people do this and have done this too. Gives some insight into how annoying and distressing serious memory issues will be, and some advance practice for old age. There I was hoping for the plain and simple equation of wisdom increasing with age…

Note to non-bloggers: “published” these days only requires your settings to be on “public” + clicking on the “publish” button. But I digress. Those “published articles”:

  • rants and other opinion pieces in blog-posts: like this one here but minus distinctions between factual information, statements backed up by argument, and all the Any Other Business that gets expressed. I like to think that while I’m not faultless (to err is human and all that), at least I try to preserve these distinctions and keep it clear when I’m ranting, when I’m doing the coldly rational thing, and when it’s facts facts facts…
  • recycling the old turkey that is “top ten cosmetic ingredients to avoid“: one of the oldest, most classic, and (IMHO) least demented of these lists—albeit not flawless—is the David Suzuki Foundation “Dirty Dozen”
  • and those ezine pieces and copy-pasted ad copy and marketeering that can loosely be labelled “pseudo-articles.”

Rant against pseuds and hypocrites over… over to The Facts Of The Matter.

Permitted cosmetic ingredients (inc. %age/dosage/rates) in the EU:

And in the USA, c/o the FDA:

FDA prohibited ones: most are here:

For others, see elsewhere on this here blog:

4 comments

Care to reply?

