questionable?

Greenbody Greenplanet Greenshilling?


COMMENTARY

ITEM ONE

Thank you for the great conversation about Greenbody Greenplanet products!

(a) No, this is not a great conversation.

(b) That tone of comment—saccharine combined with jolly hockey-sticks—sucks, and raises the hairs on the back of my neck. If I had actual hackles they’d be raised too, and were I of a different species, there’d be howling. Admittedly, my reaction of shuddering horror may have something to do with not being American (let alone Midwestern), and worse still, having most of my genetic makeup from some of the grouchiest darkest-humoured bits of north-western Europe.

ITEM TWO

To answer your questions […]

(a) Well, sorta kinda answered one on shampoo doing the job of cleaning.

But I want facts and figures. Hence

Of course, I’m open to hard proof to persuade me that miracles do exist…

That “hard proof” is not

We have been using it on the clients at our flagship salon (Hairs to You) for 2 years now, with excellent feedback.

That’s anecdotal and on one person’s word only. It could be more, and if it’s true, dear Lorri: you could make so much more of this and do yourself properly proud! gimme the data!!

(b) I asked (utterly selfishly, if you’ll pardon that) specifically about one hair type. No answer on that one.

(c) The biggie’s still out there. That is:

Does the stuff really work 4-5 times as well as perfectly decent alternatives (Avalon Organics, Earth Science, Desert Essence, Jason, etc.)?

ITEM THREE

Note throughout GG’s response, the confusion that really gets my goat:

opinion/value judgement or belief

well-formed argument or valid fact

Cue that goat:

ITEM FOUR

(a) “toxins”: if I could be arsed, I’d go through all the ingredient lists and pull out everything that could potentially be toxic. Let’s just start with water.

It gets worse.

(b) The t-word (on which, see greenwashing (3): toxicity and indeed a bunch of posts) is part of a whole paragraph about the EWG

*faints*

[revived with aromatherapeutic ayurvedic smelling-salts a good stiff drink: yay for the traditional folk remedy that is brandy]

ITEM FIVE

In an atmosphere of Greenwashing, misrepresentation and misinformation – the WWW can be tricky. We are only trying to provide our customers with the opportunity to learn about chemical free living and we feel every little bit helps!

(a) OFFS: I rest my case. Misread. Missed point. Hoist by their own (green, organic, hand-crafted from rare, exotic, but sustainable special ingredients) petard.

(b) There is no possible comeback (or any other sort of response) to this sort of remark. It’s like having a “great conversation” with any door-to-door salesmen; most obviously, with those selling religion; but the intelligent reader will see parallels with this superficially non-religious situation.

ITEM SIX

“chemical free living”

(a) ROFLMAO. Note the differences amongst the following:

“chemical free living”
“chemical free-living”
“chemical-free living”

Bonus: while we’re at it: “chemical, free living”  vs. “chemical, free, living”

PUNCTUATION: IT’S GOT A PURPOSE.

Sense and your intended meaning: use it or lose it.

ITEM SEVEN

I do wonder about comedy double-acts featuring people who might or might not have been working on commission, as sales reps, for multi-level marketing, etc.

ITEM EIGHT

Lalie:

This is great product information!

(a) No, it’s not.

(b) Or: bless you, sweetpea, but if you really truly seriously think that’s “great,” we should take that with a liberal pinch of salt if we assume you’re using the same criteria, comparative scale and range, and judgement that led you to say

I love it […] best hair days ever […] I have no idea why but my hair has this bounce unlike anything I’ve had in ages! It definitely cleansed my hair well and I like it better than my Rahua.

—with emphasis on “I have no idea why but” and to be read in conjunction with this response to an earlier post about Tata Harper:

Lalie 12/29/2011 1:22AM
I tried Tata’s line and I’m hooked! I tried so hard not to buy it, but I did and now I can’t turn back! It’s a dangerous obsession and I hate to think how much I’ve paid. But, the flip side is my skin looks better than ever! Lol!

Tata Harper, by the bye:

mej5s 7/21/2011 8:15AM
Not personally. I think the products are overpriced for the ingredients they contain.

gingerrama 7/21/2011 12:06PM
blinkin’ ‘eck, 2nd that and then square it: contenders for rip-off merchant of the year

l0llicandy 7/21/2011 2:55PM
Agreed. It’s like repackaged GOW.

Yankeesweetie 7/21/2011 3:53PM
Exactly! We could probably make it ourselves. Hmm….idea?

l0llicandy 7/21/2011 7:18PM
Yeah, I’ve been meaning to look into what is exactly in Tata Harper. I think it’s just a bunch of serums, meaning carrier oil and some essential oils, flower essences. Nothing difficult. I just don’t understand how all these celebs and people are falling for this line, unless they’re being paid loads of money.

Yankeesweetie 7/21/2011 10:08PM
They prob get it for free. Get rich and famous, ppl give you things for free. Crazy world….

A month later, Lalie actually uses my very own words, “rip-off,” echolalically:

But then two months later:

For viable alternatives to the unfiable and irrational, see posts labelled “reasoning” and suchlike on this here blog.

(c) See also this:

Aaand shortly after:

And on a related general topic:

jm 11/9/2011 10:22PM
skincare line that’s worth the money looking at Nahla and others… thoughts?

nah(la!) I blame L’Oréal’s brilliant (and thoroughly despicably evil) marketing for that “because I/you/we’re worth it” slogan: encouraging people to confuse the “worth” of money with the “worth” of other value, and to mix both of them up with “belief” in a product/line/brand.

Or: anything is worth the money if it works on your skin & agrees with your values etc., that’s all.

Sorry.

Free yourself from this, and the rest will follow

ITEM NINE

I was nice. I wasn’t as un-nice or indeed mean as I might have been.

Give me some credit. I nearly flagged the post (inappropriate; for the rules, see this post). I’d have flagged had this been on the skincare board.

But this is the green board, and populated by some slightly special people, sometimes, who aren’t too good at reading and thinking (some are vehemently anti-, as we’ve seen earlier this year in some Green Board Crises: those featuring Green Trolling and one that triggered the start of this blog).

Green Boarders are also special because there’s a lot of heart on this board, even if it’s a bit cœur simple. Heck, even the shillers have heart.

I ♥ MUA Green Board!

ITEM TEN

(a) For viable alternatives, see:

(b) This is the last day on which you can make charitable donations, here in Canada, and they’ll count for your 2011 tax return.

But instead of giving money to something useful like this (matched by the government etc.), and getting tax back, and maybe just maybe feeling that great joy of doing something good (proven by science, FWIW), you could go and spend your money here:

(c) Spent foolish money on hair stuff? Feel like a muppet? It’s OK: go see the current Muppet movie!!! As a double bill, go back home and watch the 1979 one afterwards. Maybe with some tasty snacks and mulled wine. Recommended as a New Year treat.

Happy New Year youse, and let’s all keep up the questioning and the sound solid scepticism.

If you’re sceptical about scepticism: LOL, you’re already a sceptic. Possibly because you’re a sentient intelligent being. Well done you!

If you’re in the “questioning” category about scepticism (like in “lesbian gay bisexual transgender queer/questioning”): might make a nice easy New Year’s Resolution?

Image at top: IMDB

2 comments

  1. best facial lifting cream

    I would like to express some appreciation to this writer just for rescuing me from such a challenge. As a result of looking out through the internet and finding techniques that were not valuable, I was thinking my entire life was over. Being alive without the approaches towards the difficulties you’ve sorted out by way of this posting can be a serious case, as nicely as the kind that would have badly damaged my career if I had not encountered your website. Your know-how and kindness in taking care of a great deal of things was exceptional. I am not certain what I would’ve done if I hadn’t come upon such a step like this. I am able to at this time look ahead to my future. Thanks for your time so significantly for this skilled and effective assist. I will not hesitate to endorse your internet websites to any individual who really should get care on this dilemma.

Care to reply?

