suffering fools gladly

—because that is, after all, what this blog is all about. And seemingly a lot of MUA activity.

Quack, quack

glamorgirl 12/28/2011 9:10PM
LIFECELL has anyone ACTUALLY tried LIFECELL? The website just boasts miraculous results, but i have never sampled it ( you can’t) and I dont know a soul who has actually tried it. Please post your comments if you know anythiing about LIFECELL — or is it just another internet scam? You cannot buy it at any retail stores, only on line and it costs $189 so I am very cautious about giving them my credit card #. THANKS

ginger 12/28/2011 10:27PM
OMG: thank you SO much for sharing this!!! Being a nosyparker, I had a look at the site. ROFL. Some of the most hilarious copy I’ve ever had the perverse pleasure of reading.

If it’s so amazing, O South Beach Skincare Peeps, then:
1. why is the website such an incompetent design-disaster?
2. why does it scream BS, anti-feminist patronizing peer-pressure, and quackery–some of this even looks plagiarized from quaint 19th-c. patent medicine ads?
3. why do you force readers to wade through miles of “OMG amazeballs!” testimonials (some of which look OMB amazeballsy made up, by highly imaginative fictional characters)?

The least-unreadable bit of the site:
http://www.lifecellskin.com/lifecell-wrinkle-cream.php

Once you’ve got through the miles and miles of guff, the miracel ingredients are:
nitric oxide, “molecule of the year” 1998
Dithiolane-3-Pentanic Acid
ubiquinone
vitamin C (as ascorbyl palmitate)
“The secret lies in a European discovery called Deanol.”
Acetyl Hexapeptide-3

Google “south beach skincare inc” and amongst the top results you get this:
http://www.ripoffreport.com/eye-care/lifecell-skin-anti-w/lifecell-skin-care-south-beach-ye826.htm
http://www.scambook.com/report/view/38839/Southbeach-Skin-Care-Inc.-False-Advertising-for-0.00-on-10-24-2011

Makes Silk Naturals, GoW, & MUAC serums look pretty hot…

elfy 12/28/2011 11:39PM
It pings my hoax-o-meter hard right, personally. I wouldn’t go near it! There is so much noise and clamour of people claiming their miracle cream is a real miracle. It’s enough to send you running in horror!
What I prefer to do now is scout out scholarly articles to see if there’s at least some plausibility.

raindancer 12/29/2011 2:22AM
2nd – and lol @ “hoax-o-meter” 🙂

ginger 12/29/2011 11:27AM
2nd the lol

glamorgirl 12/28/2011 11:41PM
LIFECELL – WOW thanks Gingerrama you just saved me a lot of money and aggravation. Thanks for reviewing LIFECELL the right way. You’re a LIFESAVER Gingerrama! I wouldnt have been able to find this info myself . THANKS SO MUCH ! ( I was gonna try it!)

ginger 12/29/2011 11:27AM
yes, you would have been able to find the info for yourself: it wasn’t hard: it’s called “google”

glamorgirl 12/29/2011 12:32PM
sarcasm? when you google it you get mostly posiitve websites.

ginger 12/29/2011 1:13PM
no, you don’t: try again, looking up (1) lifecell, (2) the parent company and in each case, just go a bit further in the research & reading/analysis.

Seriously, all I used was Google. Nothing special. No more than that. No extra fancy tools. Simply publicly available information. It’s *there* for the taking–free information, open knowledge, e-democrary, empower yourself. etc.

Sarcasm only in a gentle tongue-in-cheek way (I tend to reserve heavier stuff for weightier occasions than, well, what’s after all just a face cream…). Also intended non-sarcastic message: cos it is possible to mean more than one thing at a time, and that’s one of the beauties of language. My main point, not sarcastically–quite the opposite–is that the information’s there, for all to see, and this is a great and marvellous thing!

elfy 12/29/2011 1:45PM
It looks to me like OP is legit, but I can’t lie — since I saw this posted twice it looked suspiciously like shilling.
Sorry OP, we get real jumpy round here with trolls and inappropriate promotion activities… 😉 There’s a fair bit that goes on.
Repetition of promotional offers is usually a dead giveaway! 😉

Comments:

(1) As Elfy points out: inappropriate. Like I said yesterday: unethical. But there’s a big divide between what’s right and wrong, and what’s (legally and business-culturally) permissible and permitted. Yes, that probably does make me an anti-consumerist anti-capitalist Commie lippie interfering busybody bitch.

(2) Sucker.

(3) What’s wrong with sarcasm? I don’t get it… and I don’t mean that in any sense-twisting sort of way, whatever connnotatively-maligned misnomer anyone might wish to use… Wide-eyes injured innocence aside, see previous post: henceforth I shall be out and proud about being sarcastic, and mock anyone who’s still under the delusion that it’s a negative quality.

“Sarcasm is the lowest form of wit”: great popular saying, regarded by many as somewhere between sacred folk wisdom and an absolute definition and truism. But no. It’s not denotation but connotation. A Wilde quotation that’s gone wild. Original loading: double sense. IT’S LIKE IRONY, FOLKS. And it’s witty.

Here’s the real issue: wit, wittiness, and wits. You’ll recall the connection between sarcasm, wit, and intelligence from yesterday’s post on sarcasm⸮

Versus, as we see in the case above, unfortunates who are lackwits. And the evil powers of idiocracy, supported by BS, fear-mongering, peer-pressure, hogwash, greenwash, quackery, blinding with pseudoscience, bullying by self-declared authorities, and other despicable manipulation preying on the weak. The end (profit/profiteering) justifies the means, and collateral damage is a tangential irrelevance: psychological harm, daylight robbery, distress.

I’m torn. On the one and more immediate hand: an urge to use what wits I have to defend the witless against such oppression and abuse. Sometimes with the foul-tasting medicine of pointing out home truths. Never calling someone a fuckwit or lackwit, especially if true: that’s unnecessary cruelty: and this is where I draw the line with sarcasm (it’s a subtle thing, in a spectrum, and compatible with other things; not a black-and-white, either/or situation). But pointing out errors. Because that’s how humans (and other animals) learn: through making mistakes, spotting them, and making rectifications / changing future behaviour. It’s about education and empowerment. And sharing the wealth and liberation.

On the other hand: wit and wits have a negative loading these days; wit = sarcasm, one-upping someone less wit-endowed, and being a smart alec. Same pejorative shift with “intellectual” and associated words, and with the ideas behind them.

Cue standard BBB critique of smart-arse gingerdrama… See, that learning experience can be painful. You go through a stage of hating yourself for making such a stupid mistake, and hating the person who pointed it out, deflecting your kicking yourself onto them. The smug git. So if you’re out to help people this way, you’ve got to be prepared to be hated. Sometimes I can’t be arsed pointing out folly. It’s hard work, and getting a kicking for your efforts doesn’t always seem awfully rewarding, however aware I may be of its pedagogical necessity. These are adults: if they have computer access and their own spending-money, and are above the age of consent and responsibility, to hell with it. Their money, their right, their choice. It’s a free world. We’re all free to sink or swim, free to bankrupt ourselves and get evicted because we spent rent/mortgage money on skin care cream, free to starve, free to kill ourselves.

Or is it? Is that not a perversion of the ideas of “rights,” “choice,” and “freedom”?

Answers on a postcard to the usual competition address, for the usual prize: virtual box of chocolates + (very real) honour.

12 comments

  1. invest liberty reserve

    suffering fools gladly | The Praise of Folly I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You’re wonderful! Thanks! your article about suffering fools gladly | The Praise of FollyBest Regards Craig

  2. invest liberty reserve

    suffering fools gladly | The Praise of Folly I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re incredible! Thanks! your article about suffering fools gladly | The Praise of FollyBest Regards Lawrence

  3. invest liberty reserve

    suffering fools gladly | The Praise of Folly I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You are incredible! Thanks! your article about suffering fools gladly | The Praise of FollyBest Regards Yoder

  4. quotes on lost love

    I got what you convey, thanks for putting up. Woh I am pleased to exploit this website finished google. Thanks For Share suffering fools gladly | The Praise of Folly.

  5. quotes on lost love

    suffering fools gladly | The Praise of Folly I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re amazing! Thanks! your article about suffering fools gladly | The Praise of FollyBest Regards Nick

  6. Best Android widgets

    suffering fools gladly | The Praise of Folly I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You are wonderful! Thanks! your article about suffering fools gladly | The Praise of FollyBest Regards Agata

  7. quotes on lost love

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of suffering fools gladly | The Praise of Folly . Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  8. plants vs zombies apk

    suffering fools gladly | The Praise of Folly I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. You are amazing! Thanks! your article about suffering fools gladly | The Praise of FollyBest Regards Craig

  9. ClepleAlara

    It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or advice. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even more things about it! garage door repair

    • gingerama

      And you, sir, are the winner of this week’s Gold Star Award for Spam That Was So Amusing That I Not Only Let It Through But Responded To It Too!
      Well done. Congratulations. It’s a much-coveted trophy. Will be worth a fortune in eBay and high-class auction rooms of the future.

  10. plants vs zombies apk

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of suffering fools gladly | The Praise of Folly . Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

    • gingerama

      Love it! The post on suffering fools gladly is the one elliciting the most spamalike of late. It’s significant that’s from people who use (and ardently advocate others using) msn, play the lottery, watch TV, and follow their cousin’s recommendations. I must meet this cousin; I’m fairly sure there’s only one cousin here, he’s the same cousin to all these people, and I know that sounds bad for at least two reasons…
      Ladies and gentlemen: meet the demographic of folly.

Care to reply?

