pussy power (2)

and another informal contest winner, and another epic fail: 

Apologies for the slight delay in bringing in this report; alas, while I am a sad git (and freely admit thereto), I do also have a job and one of those “home life” things. So as is my habit I took some screenshots, stuck ’em in a folder, and went back to slightly more urgent matters. Errands on the beautification side: replenishing supplies of NOW rosehip oil, Bobbi Brown perfectly defined mascara, Avalon Organics unscented shampoo & conditioner, and chocolate. Did laundry. Had cup of tea while separating and folding and putting away our (Beloved’s + my) massive collection of impressively similar-looking black woolly socks. Some writing due in by the end of the month, and some work admin/correspondence. Yes, I have one of those classic Sad Git jobs that involves email etc. at the weekend. And friends outside my line of work can vouch that yes, we probably could easily be called “professional cray crays.” Then again it also involves reading, research, collecting information and being informed, and spending time online. Could be worse.

But, liking my job aside: yes, my life is that exciting. Also, because I’m a self-confessed out-and-proud nerd, I enjoy matching up and folding socks. I look forward to it as one of the high points of the weekend. It’s one of those sweet little things to relish that keep you going through the week. Lucky for me, I know some “normal” people and have some familiarity with the “outside world” so I’m aware that looking forward to sock-folding doesn’t count as exciting for most people. It’s OK. I feel your loss and pain. It can’t be much fun, for you folks with higher standards, if you don’t get to feel your life is exciting very often. We can’t all be James Bond.

Mind you, I’ve always got the impression that JB actually rather enjoys putting his feet up and pottering around in slippers; so long as he gets to do so in a dressing-gown, with a drink in one hand and a babe in the other. You can’t be a “gentleman of leisure” properly and decently otherwise, really. It’s part of the definition. Even if you’re James Bond. Rules are rules, decorum est, and anything else would be a bit non-U.

Oh, actually, my life is exciting: I bought some lovely fresh bread for us to munch on later (with cheese, assorted veg, houmous): A Bread Affair’s “Love Birds” seed bread and, for a snack along the way (as I need regular refuelling), a great Australian invention to which I’ve been sadly addicted since moving here. No, not Aussie rules, the woomera, or the rotary clothes hoist; though they’d be a killer combo for troll-hunting. Nope: the Cheesymite Scroll (COBS). Yes, it’s pretty damn lardy and salty. But sometimes a gal’s gotta do what a gal’s gotta do. Vancouver, what a beauty you are; and living here is a beautiful life.

Free advertising and drooling now over.

You may (or may not) vaguely recall Pussy Power last week:

Well, I’m flattered and honoured and somewhat humbled that this came to Café board’s attention! New blog readers are always welcome. I hope I can continue to provide the odd bit of amusement. Café’s a tough crowd. Which is precisely why I only ever lurk there–I posted there once, a long time ago, defending myself against some fool who’d, well, been foolish on Skincare (being one of my two regular haunts) and then went to bitch about it/me on Café. It was all a bit beyond me, and a bit much, so I ran away. Most immediately because of the Mean Girls element and my fear, loathing, and despising for that sort of thing; going all the way back to high-school bullying.

But also as the Café business really is very much beyond me. If you want to be “in” there, you need to be on pretty much constantly. You need to be focussed, attentive, on the ball. You also need to know lots of stuff. There’s mountains of past history, intratextual allusions, and epic sagas of interpersonal relations. That’s all very interesting and its research and study would be very rewarding in its own right; but heck, incompatible with being on the Skincare and Green boards, let alone ever reading anything else online, or doing anything else at all ever. Sadly, I am not sufficiently dedicated to MUA to sacrifice my job to it. Or indeed domestic bliss, health, and sanity. (I like to think that the Dear Beloved would be the one to Make That Call and hand me over to the men in white coats.)

Café: epic win. I can’t compete in the lively quipfire contest of wits.

But:

Comment is free, speech is free, the interweb is public and belongs to all: so (within whatever limits I impose on myself) I can and will continue to say whatever I damn well please. If that amuses, all the better. If it doesn’t, that’s fine: any excuse reason to write is good, as a lot of my job is reading & analysis & writing, and the more of that I do, the better–a kind of “virtuous cycle.”

[UPDATE: on writing–screenshots took me a few minutes + writing this post took about an hour, actually two hours start to finish but with other bits of work-writing in between, and I know they took an hour. That does mean there may still be typos and other glitches; but thank goodness it’s a blog, so I can always go back and fix them whenever. Yes, on the cray cray note, I am the sort of person who has nightmares about having a vague inkling of having made a typo somewhere, I’ll get up at 4 in the morning to check, and invariably find there was a typo and it was completely trivial but it’s still a typo FFS and they all count. Go equal rights and social justice for all!]

Thanks to the wonder that is WordPress, I get to see how many people read this here blog, and how they got here. So I got to se what Café posts led people towards this den of iniquity…

… and it’s here that we got further wins: good research work, witty pithy trenchant comments as expected (yes, I include the ones taking the piss out of me, because they’re good and funny!!!)

… but alas and alack and alarum, epic fails on good close reading, analysis, interpretation, and conclusions.

Herewith The Evidence.

LOL, FOCL, ROFL.

For the record:

I have only ever had one MUA name. “Gingerama” (one -R-) is someone else. That was the name I wanted, back in 2007. Was already taken: someone who, according to their profile, is not even ginger! Bitch. So I signed up requesting the version with -RR- and got it–and double- or even triple-R is much better anyway–as back then was before the rule came in about not having a name that was close to someone else’s. Now we’re in the Troll Age, that wouldn’t be allowed.

I have other online IDs, on other sites, which deal with other stuff (inc. ones relating to my field of work, where I use my real-life name or variations on it). In each case, it’s one name for one topic: work, genteel flower-arranging, far-right politics, far-left politics, apoliticism, anti-politicism, collecting Franklin Mint plates, taking the piss out of people who collect Franklin Mint plates, radical knitting, Liberation Theology, Evangelicalism, Fundamentalism, comparative fart-jokes, competitive flatulence, amateur grave-robbing, The Real Lard Fan-Club, … and all skincare, personal grooming, cosmetic etc. stuff inc. MUA.

Errm,  no. Sorry. I blog:
(1) more or less with my IRL name for stuff that’s more or less related to my field of work.
(2) as a second ID for political/ideas stuff that might be worth separating from work. Not actually necessary, here in Canada, but who knows–I have to go to places like the USA for work from time to time, and I don’t want to find myself in “warning” lists. And the chances of crossing paths with a TSA person who loves Franklin Mint plates, or any of the other Special Interests above, is quite high.
(3) as gingerrama, sometimes with three RRRs.

Why no more than that? Because that’s quite enough for me, and I can’t juggle any more that that. I’m a lousy liar, and I’d get caught out or cross over my characters very fast. There’s good reasons I’m not a novelist.

This blog originally evolved out of MUA stuff:

  • as an extension to my notepad and a place to store the mountains of crud I’d accumulated on MUA: that notepad–used to be a mammoth big long hairy thing, much worse than its current appalling state, my reviews, some of my longer posts.
  • MUA doesn’t always play nicely with my main computer (at home… no, not work…): incompatibility with Mac OS, with Linux, with assorted browsers, with software updates. My whole notepad–back in the day when it was big, long, and hairy–has suffered dramatic accidents and been completely deleted several times. Not my fault, nor because I’m an IT idiot: MUA system issues and errors. It’s happened to others too. Anyway: I wanted to keep a current version of the notepad somewhere, and better a new place than my main blog, which is work/RL-related.
  • the Gingerrrama blog has since developed to include other stuff too, inc. everything I can’t say on MUA but would love to. (See posting history c/o archives on here, you’ll get the gist.)
  • and as a public long-term repository for some counter-trollism archives: this became more important after one of the vicious, damaging, harmful trolling activities earlier this year.

Have a look at the rationale found for “gingerrama” purportedly being the same person as / a persona of the same person behind “betty white” (there’s been, I think, both a bettywhiteishot and a bettyiswhitehot). Compare to the reasoning used on BB recently to “prove” that gingerrama = gothicsdarkangel.

Next, have a look at stuff here; and, on MUA, at pictures, notepad, product reviews, blog posts. You’ll note:
(1) MUA gingerrama = Praise of Folly gingerr(r)ama
(2) inc. being ginger etc.
(3) If in doubt, deploy Ockham’s razor: how likely is it that I would provide, invent, imagine, write up all that material just to set up the “Cat Power” joke? It was a great original post, the SCB repartee was fab, (the misreading of) my own was hilarious… but four years’ buildup? For one joke?? Who’s the CRAY CRAY now???
(4) Mind you, if I’m ever contemplating MUA-suicide I’ll know what to do… [goes off to start setting up new persona in preparation, marks date in diary for 2015]

What’s hilarious is that I’d not thought at the time that “the winners are…” might be read in this way. It’s very clever. Much more clever than what was meant by poor old not-that-clever me. I was typing fast (as ever) and also desperately hoping we could keep that thread going, cos it was fun damnit and I was enjoying it and I got the impression others too.

It was a contest for all of us on the SCB: as happens often on the board, with contests and polls, these things are “for” and “belong to” the whole board–not just an individual. I think this might be a misunderstanding based on cultural difference. Café is more territorial, and there are some individuals there who are more entitled than others to start polls. You’ll sometimes see a poll started, and then no-one answers, or they mock it (and/or the OP). Ditto Fashion and Entertainment. SCB, it’s quite different: I’ve seen polls started by people who are clearly morons (and have been chided for it, be that gently or firmly), and by newbies. SCB being more earnest, we tend to take all questions on their own terms, at face value: looking just at the content/message, not at who the poster is. This is of course a massive failing, too: makes us more trollable, and easily wound up by quite simple sorts of troll: just keep asking the same stupid question over and over again, that’ll do the trick every time. For a good example, see this old post about questions that SCB hates: on being reasonable (July 2011)

That aside: any excuse to try to keep it vaguely on skincare track, and battle against the threat of it being flagged for being off-topic, spam, etc. I thought that “giving” a Grinch Prize might be a subtle hint–OK, I admit, I was trying to do something vaguely clever here–to Sniffer to stop being so fecking sniffy. On a serious note, though: Sniffer is a SCB guru, fabulous, venerated, someone whose advice and words of wisdom I’d read with attention for years, from whom I’ve learned so much, and who Is Generally Great–hence the extent of my disappointment and dejection.

Do remember–I guess I’m still talking to an imaginary Café audience here, who might be reading this, but then again, more likely will have moved on to bigger and better things, being finger-clicking snappy and moving faster than a speeding bullet–but do remember, pretty please: skincare take themselves really seriously and, like anyone else, it does us good to let our hair down from time to time. And to poke fun at ourselves.

That was the point of my “winner of the contest” response.

Concluding: that epic fail in reading is also an epic win.
(1) Makes me come out looking much smarter than I really am.
Gothicsdarkangel, marsen, orlmente, WellWorthIt: it’s nice of you to think so, I’m touched, but sorry 😦
(2) May mean that Café worries that one of their own is me. Café will be watching each other. Others, including yours truly, will be watching Café, noting who’s checking who’s commenting on whom else, who jumps in first to report a new item or update, who’s maybe kinda stalking or trolling… though that last one’s always problematic: there’s a fine line with just plain “following” and “being pals / buddies with.” Plus how all of that coincides with BBB activity-patterns.
(3) Might get them to do more research–login times, IP locations–which is always good, and good for the little grey cells, even if (mwahahahahah) alas, the end result will just confirm what I’ve said here. Then again, I’ve always said that research is an art and joy and so on.
(4) Ditto, on close reading and doing literary criticism and analysis, and exercising those reasoning muscles…

Finally: may the whole business do the reputation of good old bettywhiteishot as much good as it does mine. And may we all continue to live in interesting times, in the best possible sense.

2 comments

  1. mej5s

    This totally made my week. A full circle of trolling on both ends of the intellectual spectrum – a living laboratory if you will. Keep it coming!

Care to reply?

