meta-MUA: pussy power!

Simple things please simple minds. Speaking for myself, anyway. And simple things can be bigger, more complex, more sophisticated, more revealing, layered, and generally many-spleandoured than they seem at first glance. Take this classic bit of MUAing (UPDATED with an epilogue):

–posted on every board, from 3:14 to 3:24PM MUA-time.

The choice of order of board is obvious: café, then pets, then all the rest (reading across the list of boards, left to right–with a glitch around Photo Of The Day). The pattern of responses might be revealing…

Three main phases of response, coinciding I guess with people’s afternoon work breaks in the MUA time-zone: the post was well-timed, fitting with a first response-wave around 3.15-3.30.

The following boards HAVE ZERO RESPONSES:

  • Travel
  • Work & money
  • Family
  • Photo of the Day

I’m guessing because they’re all busy with much more important things. Especially POTD.

The following boards flagged the post such that it was removed:

  • nail board (and no-one else. So far, so good.)

And flagging, removal, inappropriateness, etc. were mentioned on these ones:

  • cosmetics procedures board (no surprise there: I’d have bet on The Plastic Freaks or The Fitness Freaks being the most Grinch-like)
  • skincare board (also no surprises there: lots of trolling and some vicious fights → very rule-focussed and law-abiding, as a defensive mechanism)

Most loquacious ensuing discussion:

  • skincare board

Unsurprising special award for being the board that takes itself, and its subject-matter, the most seriously on all of MUA:

  • skincare board

A little taking of the bait, arranged in order of vapidity rapidity of response–except for the first couple, this whole group were on one response only for a loooong time:

CAFE (3:14-3:17):

BE HEALED!! FlamingoPlume
lol Brittanyrmua

HOME & GARDEN BOARD (3:20-3:38):

*pinches kitty cheeks* bedhead19
you love posting cat pics… BiteMeMua

WEDDING BOARD (3:19-5:04):

Can the power of the cat compel a mug of hot chocolate to appear on my desk? petunia101
(a dramatic very late entrant to the game: raises her entire board’s game, possibly saving their reputation–or maybe ruining it by destroying all my illusions, expectations, etc.)
–See if I have that on my desk my cat compels his paw in it just like the picture… lol THATSWHATSHESAlD
Ahaha, love it! Denise
aww THATSWHATSHESAID

ENTERTAINMENT (TV, Movies) BOARD (3:20-4:51; early response though):

you hit all boards with this post LOL LIttleTornado
lol msaries

PET BOARD (3:14-4:26):

love it! babydials
Oh cabbage cat! Too Cute hrab03

FITNESS BOARD (3:18-4:11):

*buys tuna to put out for strays* pandagirl80
I luv you beyond words. 😀 i’m so f’ing stressed right now, i need this big time virtualMia

LATE ENTRANTS TO THE COMPETITION

COSMETIC PROCEDURES BOARD (3:19-3:59)

wow, you literally went and spammed EVERY board. great. LaceyH

(Grouchy Grumpy Grinchy Git Award)

GREEN BOARD (3:21-4:39):

Awesome. BleuStarfish
This is probably the most informative post I have read on MUA in months. Awesome! avironneur

(Avi at 4:01–I bet he just did it to thwart me and my grand hunches… there I was thinking us Greens might satisfy all the hippy stoner laid-back expectations, and be the last to reply–say, a day later–once emerged from haze / post-herbal-tea deep meditation.)

HAIR (3:18-4:17):

LMAO! Kiyone1980

(I’d nearly given up on this board… very disappointing, given how hairy the picture is)

PHOTO OF THE DAY (3:24-4:37)

LOL punkkitty414

BOARDS WITH MORE RESPONSES

FOOD & NUTRITION BOARD (3:20-3:58):

love this. meggie67
how cute MyKarmaRanOverYourDogma
awww jacona

FRAGRANCE (3:17-4:43):

Love this! You put a smile on my face, not a good day for me. drc98x
Okay, okay, I will order Bottega Veneta. mutzi
Hahahaha! Love. laserpewpew
LOL I love this!!! kittycooper

BATH & BODY BOARD (3:17-3:54):

Ha ha! I wants to snuggle the cuteness! blondeangel
Awww candigirl72
Love it! begina
heehee, cute! Catttt
omg, that is too cute! newred
LOL! appletea

NAIL BOARD (3:18-3:54)

Awww, see–he’s holding out his paw to be manicured…manicattedmitzigaynor15
I want to hug that cat so hard. surradebunda
That will so get u flagged but I love it! 🙂 gilpnh
–Agreed! salvagedexpression
—3rd pawz94
lol iLe

MAKEUP BOARD (3:17-4:02)

LOL, my Phoebe does exactly that! It’s like “you will obey” shava
I wish there was a ‘like’ button. kiwisqur
*buys all the blushes* The kitty made me do it!! chantequeen
cute kitteh! Chrissaaa
*falls onto knees* I will resissssttttt!!! Naadia
No! neicyk13
lol I was half expecting something about The Cat from Red Dwarf VioletOblivia

(Special award for taking to this like a duck to water…)

FASHION (3:19-4:20)

This is the kitty with the natural smile! I love the cabbage kitty photos…. sopranowriter
Love it!!! nekochama
lol!!! ButterflyEffect
so funny this looks exactly like my cat!!! sfsuperstar
Okay, want. And I hate them. xokeishaxo
Ahwwwwwwwww sandra1900
awwwwwwwwwwwww jennate

(Disappointed: there was great satirical potential here–and no-one spotted how appropriate and pithily trench(coat)ant the critique might be seen to be…)

But the winner: not the fastest off the draw; but most productive, proactive, engaged, and engaging; wittiest; most meta-MUA discursive/reflective; most varied … is…
THE SKINCARE BOARD (3:18-4:19):

Phase One:

Phase Two:

Within which:

And a late addition:

This is the one of the few OT posts I love! But what about Kitty with no neck?!! + jamandjellypicnic 4:50PM

There’s been a couple more friendly chatty comments–see http://www.makeupalley.com/m_134012702 for further updates as the situation progresses. But, happily, it is under control; no mishaps, damage done, or collateral damage. Other than egos bruised in the fierce competition for the Grumpy Git award.

I’ll stop now, otherwise people might think I’m a cat lady. Which I’m not: I’m fond of cats, but don’t have any. Just, you know, for the record…

(some time later: an update)

Oh sniffer, why must you be so sniffy?

Sweetie: come back, all is forgiven. Just playing. Come play too?

Go on, Sniffer: I know you’ve got it in you to be cheery, chirpy, mellow-ly sharp but sweet: like an exceptionally fine

my current absolute tip-top favourite cheese: costs an arm and a leg, but worth every cent

a very sensible suggestion

the Jack-in-the-box that keeps popping up; the gift that keeps on giving; the Joke-in-the-Jar that’s infinitely adaptable for any purpose. Crème de la Mer, how we love you on the Skin Care Board…

look: see how tempting it was? but I managed NOT to mention this blog-post. Must. not. mention. blog. on. MUA.

EPILOGUE

In pussy power (2), Café spot the Skincare Board reaction and responses to “THE POWER OF THE CAT COMPELS YOU!!!” Marvels, mystery, and mayhem ensue…

Care to reply?

