pretty packaging

Another fangirl piece, but this time about CHOCOLATE. Mainly.

One of my favourite chocolates (in my approximate Top Ten on the side) is a local Vancouver one, Thomas Haas’s 83%. I’d also be quite happy with their 73% crunchy or the 79% part-Madagascan one. It’s also one of my favourites for the artistry of its presentation. The sealed bar looks like this:

Start opening, and you see that the chocolate is inside another layer of gorgeousness. Yes, it is a waste of plastic–but it is recyclable… and if you’re going to use materials other than 100% recycled and recyclable old knickers paper and cloth, might as well go about it boldly… I digress: this is some of the sexiest plastic around:

Break into it, and you find lovely irregular-sized pieces, making every bite slightly different from the one before:

The taste of the stuff aside–it’s very fine indeed, though not (yet) reviewed by seventypercent (as not, to the best of my knowledge, available in the UK)–that aside, the packaging aesthetics have won the Haas plaudits. Now, to be fair, this stuff didn’t just spontaneously evolve: intelligent design had a hand in it:

observe also the intelligently-designed and beautifully simple website. aaaah.

Having a brief scoot around looking at design blogs that discussed the H, herewith some gems:

I admit: I’m as big a sucker for packaging as the next person. But this sort: minimalist, clean, modernist. With pleasing fonts. Luckily for me I can be an ecofabulous recessionista, as most of the expensive end of the beauty-market is hair-raisingly minging and/or over-the-top; and, with few exceptions–such as Clinique–their font-design sucks. This is all true of way too much of the green titivation universe too (John Masters is a notable exception); I can excuse spending (less) money on them, as I then rip of the heinous offences to the eye that pass as labels, and stick on my own (sometimes I’m decanting anyway). Yes, I am that sad. Etsy: a lot there gives me hives (OK, and what’s with the obsession with putting lavender and every EO I can’t use in every bleeding thing?). Garden of Wisdom: I love you dearly, but the comic sans has got to go. Dr.Hauschka: gold-abuse. Weleda: nice try on updating some products, but there’s no excuse for this:

zooming in: baby cream bath (ingredients: Water (Aqua), Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Alcohol, Glycerin, Glyceryl Oleate, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Sodium Beeswax, Xanthan Gum, Fragrance (Parfum), Limonene, Linalool)

The next item is one of my best-loved favourites: would you have this sit in your bathroom and wave at you every day? Don’t you just itch to do something about it?

*Shudder*

Back to beauteous packaging, and chocolate. Another favourite is Blanxart, on both counts (being pretty and being chocolatey, that is). I challenge you to peruse their catalogue without drooling.

Some personal favourites:

Shudder turns to swoon.

Not my usual cup of tea at all–I can be a bit puritanical and prudish about chocolate (except ginger and chilli)–but these are truly sincerely amazeballs:

the easy way to get your five-a-day

Care to reply?

