folly (mine, this time) & groaning

You may (or may not) have noticed some updating going on in the “current affairs” sticky post. This is because I was foolish.I played around with stuff. Face stuff. Insofar as there was thinking involved, here’s how it went:

  1. I have some Weleda Cold Cream to use up. Hey, I’ll use it on my face. It’s got some essential oil(s) in it, but mainly rose, and that’s fine on my face.
  2. Hmmm: bit too thick and rich for this time of year. Render it lighter by mixing in the the multi-purpose oil blend.
  3. Hmmm, that’s not really working either. Feels funny, and there’s some redness and inflammation starting up.
  4. Clean face. Apply plain oil as moisturiser, sunscreen, finishing powder.
  5. Shrug shoulders. Go out. Do two sensible things:
    1. replenish toast-bread and houmous supplies
    2. stop by London Drugs on the way between food-shop and bus-stop. See with delight that they’ve got new A-Derma stock in–new packaging, different place. Moved from being near the department-store stuff–Clarins, Shiseido, etc.–where it was with the upper-end dermy stuff–Avène, LRP, Neostrata, Vichy–to a new home, with more regular more functional dermy stuff–Cetaphil, Cerave, Eucerin, Aveeno, etc. Smart move, that LD moving-stuff-around person. Delight grows–a squeal is suppressed–as not one, not two, but all three forms of Exoméga are spotted: the lotion, the cream (an old one that’s been lurking there for some time, with a best-before-date of next month), and the balm (date: 10/2013). I compare ingredients, consult MUA to reconstruct memory re. which one I preferred, and buy the balm.
  6. Head home. Unpack shopping. Putting the A-Derma into emergency supplies area, another of these bright ideas occurs. Hey, I have some old Weleda baby lotion in this same cupboard, last spotted in the box of old skin stuff. (It’s a subsection of the box of shoe-cleaning equipment–I have been known to repurpose the former as the latter; not vice-vera, even when really drunk. I’m not quite that silly. But I digress.)
  7. Rummaging ensues.
  8. Bottle located.
  9. Next thought process: I always thought the baby stuff smelled lovely, it can’t be too fragrant, I’m sure it was fine before, the operative ingredients are very like Clinique’s Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion. It’ll be cool.
  10. […]
  11. [groaning]
  12. [swearing]
  13. [face-cleaning]
  14. No. That was not cool. It was warming, in all the wrong ways. Irritation of skin. Sneezing of nose. Conclusions: failed experiment. And while those two aforementioned Weleda things have been known to work in the past, they do not work right now.
  15. Best deliberate considered idea of the day: aha, I knew there was a reason I got that A-Derma stuff.

So. Back to A-Derma. No more messing around. I’m lucky, this could all have ended up with the emergency measures.

See 5.2 above and consider next, gentle reader, how far that might constitute a reason, or the workings of a reasoning and reasonable mind. I maintain the main brain-activity was (a) contemplating product placement, displacement, and its implications and rationale; (b) researching which version of Exoméga I’d liked best before; (c) repressing squee-ing urges. Any positives were at best tangential, incidental, a bonus. See further, for an interesting twist in the opposite direction: the doctrine of double effect.

5 comments

  1. mej5s

    I had noticed the Desert Essence product on your notepad briefly which didn’t surprise me since it is fairly innocuous but upon secondary inspection was indeed surprised to see the Weleda Calendula Lotion. My only personal experience with the Weleda Calendula Soap which while mild for an alkaline pH soap bar did not agree with me at all due to son parfum plus-que-léger so I have dutifully avoided most things Weleda that are not of the Almond line.

    Pharmaplus continues to sell the A-Derma line here and it is nice indeed. I have never tried the Exomega but the A-Derma Skin Cream works fine for me during the winter. In the current hot summer weather (not an issue I understand where you are this year, malheureusement/heureusement dépdendamment de tes goûts climatiques) this is far too occlusive for me.

    Congrats on crisis aversion – while I agree with the principle of waste not want not I also periodically purge to avoid “What If I went back to….” folly.

    • gingerama

      M: you’re quite right. As ever.
      Also, while “waste not want not” is satisfying, isn’t it even more heart-warming and happy-making to fill bags of rubbish/trash and clear space? Or do I just have a deviant form of the OCD variation expressed in the collecting, matchy-matchy, arranging disorder that’s genetically linked to having two X-chromosomes? Or, in the immortal words of Neal Stephenson & J. Frederick George (Interface): the category of MIDAMERICAN KNICKKNACK QUEEN.
      ITA on their Skin Care Cream. But I’m avoiding right now as it contains cyclomethicone, which might or might not be cyclopentasiloxane–will email to check–and I know that cyclops is a non-no on my head. By the time I get a yay/nay, it’ll probably be time for a new tube of something anyway. Of the other forms of Exoméga: the Cream has cyclomethicone too, and they had no Lotion (it’s very like the Balm, but more runny). So the Balm it is.
      INGREDIENTS (balm): Water (Aqua), Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Glycerin, Polysorbate 60, Cetearyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, PEG-12, Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Butylene Glycol, Squalane, Niacinamide, 10-Hydroxydecenoic Acid, Avena Sativa (Oat) Leaf/Stem extract, Benzoic Acid, BHT, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Cetearyl Glucoside, Chlorphenesin, Disodium EDTA, Laureth-7, Maltodextrin, Phenoxyethanol, Polyacrylamide, Sodium Acetate, Tocopherol.
      INGREDIENTS (lotion): Water, Petrolatum, Sorbitan Stearate, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Glycerin, Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum), Butylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Oenothera Biennis (Evening Primrose) Oil, Aluminium Starch Octenylsuccynate, Behenyl Alcohol, Niacinamide, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Benzoic Acid, BHT, Carbomer, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, Sucrose Cocoate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Triethanolamine, Xanthan Gum.

      • gingerama

        YAY! Confirmed: the cyclomethicone in the SCC is not cyclopentasiloxane.
        (I thought not–I mean, I’ve used the stuff before, and off and on for ages.)
        Off to do jiggle-dance of joy and triumph. Maybe not the triumph part. Jiggling, though, for sure. Have to get some practice in for Pride this weekend…

Care to reply?

